Cromehurst School

Where Students Shine

Telephone02 9416 9281

High school curriculum

Students from Year 7 – 12 undertake a LIFE SKILLS based program.

Year 7 to Year 10 focuses on eight key learning areas:

Within these key learning areas, there are courses and elective subjects.

Mandatory subjects in years 7 - 10 are studied by all students in NSW public schools and are set by the Board of Studies.

Students choose from a range of elective courses that we offer depending on teacher expertise and the number of students interested in that subject. Information on elective courses is available on the Board of Studies website

Students must meet the subject requirements in Years 7-10 to qualify for the School Certificate in Year 10.

School certificate

The School Certificate is awarded by the Board of Studies. To be eligible, a student must complete the required courses assessed by school-based assessment.

In Years 11 and 12 students study for the Higher School Certificate (HSC):

  • Preliminary Year 11
  • Higher School Certificate Year 12

HSC courses

The courses students can study are based on the Life Skills units:

  • Board developed courses
    These courses are set by the Board of Studies. These programs of study are developed to cater for individual learning needs, negotiated with parents and caregivers through individual planning/review meetings. These include courses in English, mathematics, science, technology, creative arts, personal development, health and physical education, human society and its environment, languages and Vocational Education and Training (VET) curriculum frameworks.
  • Read a list of subjects available and a description of each course on the Board of Studies website.